Girl excited to get grapes during Basin’s Backyard Garden weekly donation

Basin’s Backyard Garden volunteers made their second donation of the year. Living things are taking their sweet time growing this summer, but of course, rhubarb never did run with the crowd and heads up our first truly #HomeGrown gift in 2021. (Thanks to Della Mastel for the gorgeous rhubarb.)

June 29 donation was taken to Community Action. The grapes didn’t make the photo opportunity.

Aside from the gorgeous rhubarb, the rest of the 8.8 pound donation included grocery store produce — lettuce, spinach, cucumbers, and tomatoes, all North Dakota-grown and from BisMan Community Food Co-op.

One treat, though, was added when this week’s volunteer decided to make a quick stop home. “I remembered I had a fresh bag of grapes at home and decided I wanted to add that to our donation,” says Angela Magstadt. “When I walked through the doors at Community Action, a mom and her daughter were there and saw I had grapes in our donation. She asked me for them. It makes me so happy to think that little girl is eating those grapes since she probably wouldn’t have liked lettuce or cucumbers. A healthy treat for her.”

Leave a comment